Posted by: trbccoffeebreak | April 9, 2014

This Word

cb devo aug 16“Why do you look at the speck of sawdust in your brother’s eye and pay no attention to the plank in your own eye?” Luke 6:41 (NIV)

Judge. “Don’t judge me.” “Don’t judge others.” “You don’t have the right to judge.”
“Walk a mile in my shoes before you judge me.” “The Bible says not to judge.” Just a few of the ways this term is used; however, do we know what this word really means?

In Matthew 7:1, Jesus is saying, “Don’t judge unless you are ready to be judged.” He is not saying, “Don’t ever have an opinion or conclusion.” Clearly, we all have beliefs about what is right and wrong to how children should be raised. The purpose of “judge not” is to avoid pointing out the sin of others without recognizing and addressing our own. We should always be willing to look at our own sin and do something about it!

Clearly, we should be compassionate and loving towards others even if we disagree. We should be willing to listen, learn, support and forgive. We should be willing to love people enough to share the truth with them. Pull out the plank of wood in our own eyes before pointing out the speck in another’s…but don’t ignore the speck.

We should be seeing people through the eyes of Christ. Sinners in need of a Savior. Fellow believers in need of discipleship. Friends. Family. They are not their sin. Neither are you. Neither am I. Love others as Christ loves you. Understand that Jesus definitely called out sin. He met people where they were, but he never left them there. I think we should do the same thing in truth and love. And I don’t believe any of that is “judging.”

“Dear Lord, Help me to only judge in the manner that You have laid out for us in Your Holy Word. Above all, let me focus on myself so that I can sin less and love You more.”
For His Glory

Laurel Shaler (www.drlaurelshaler.com)
TRBC Coffee Break


Leave a comment

Categories