Posted by: trbccoffeebreak | June 25, 2013

The Best Protection

 cb devo june 25No discipline is enjoyable while it is happening—it’s painful! But afterward there will be a peaceful harvest of right living for those who are trained in this way.” Hebrews 12:11 (NLT)

 

Recently, I suffered one of the worst sunburns of my entire life. For four days I couldn’t have anything touching the affected areas. I took ibuprofen around the clock and slathered on aloe gel to ease the pain.  Normally I wear sunblock, but that day I had been in a hurry before heading out to my son’s baseball game and decided to take my chances.  Most of my life, I have been blessed with skin that rarely burned and tanned easily.  Turns out, the medication I was taking had a side effect – sensitivity to sun. Coupled with skin that hadn’t yet been exposed to the sun this season equaled one painful lesson I won’t easily forget.

 

Wonder how many life lessons I’ve forgotten because I focused on the discipline I didn’t enjoy rather than embracing the potential for growth? God has given us instructions about our lives, and He expects us to listen and obey Him.  When we don’t, we risk troublesome, inconvenient, even painful consequences. He doesn’t do this to harm us or to get even; it’s for our own good.  It’s about learning to see that disobedience in any form is destructive.  Out of love for us, He sets boundaries and allows us to learn to stay within them. The safest place for us to be, always, in any situation is with the One whose love for us is the best protection we could ever have. Following God will always keep us from getting burned.

 

“Heavenly Father, thank You for loving us so much that You take time to teach and instruct us on how we are to live our lives. Forgive us for stepping out of those boundaries and trying to go our own way. Help us to see that Your ways are always better and safer than ours.

 

For His Glory,

 

Josey Bozzo
TRBC Coffee Break

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

