Posted by: trbccoffeebreak | July 1, 2013

Peace Like A River

??????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????“O that thou hadst hearkened to my commandments!  then had thy peace been as a river, and thy righteousness as the waves of the sea.” Isaiah 48:18( KJV)

 

When was the last time you went to the river and watched the current?  I am an ocean and river lover.There is something about the water that brings me calmness of mind and keeps me in a meditation mode. It makes me aware of what an awesome God we have, it keeps me aware of his holiness, His power, His creation, His wonders, and so much more.  Today, I was meditating on this verse and thinking of the difference between a river and the ocean.  The river is gentle and calmer.  The ocean comes roaring with its waves.  As I thought about when we obey His commandments, how God gives us peace like a river, and I thought about His righteousness as the waves of the sea.  Another translation (NIRV) reads:  “Holiness would sweep over you like the waves of the ocean.”  In other words, God wants to overwhelm us with his presence (His holiness).  When we spend time with Him daily, we stay in His presence and He overflows us with His peace.   Today, I asked my husband to go with me to the river.  I sat down and prayed this scripture.  I took time to meditate on this scripture and what an awesome God we have.  I was reminded how much God wants to bless us and extend His blessings to others through us on a daily basis.  As we bask in His presence, we have more to offer others.

 “Lord, I choose to hearken to Your commandments.  Thank You for the peace that has been like a river, and thank You for overwhelming me with Your presence.

 

For His Glory,

 Linda Reyes Shepherd
TRBC Mountain Blend

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

