Posted by: trbccoffeebreak | September 23, 2013

Inner Transformation

cb devo sept 23“And have put on the new self who is being renewed to a true knowledge according to the image of the One who created him.” Colossians 3:10 (NASB)

 

At the beginning of summer, I began a fitness routine. I walked as often as I could, cut out junk food, and stopped snacking at night. Two months later, I hadn’t lost any weight. Another month passed, and I still didn’t lose any weight. One afternoon as I was walking, I began grumbling about not losing any weight. Then I noticed a butterfly.  Ever have a God moment? One of those times when you know God is speaking to you or showing you something? Well that butterfly was traveling right along with me, and I knew it was for my benefit.  You see, when a caterpillar transforms into a butterfly, it cocoons itself into a chrysalis. Later it emerges completely changed. We don’t see the caterpillar’s transformation into a butterfly, but it still happens.

 

 Instead of focusing on what hadn’t changed, I began to think of what had changed.  I was waking up at 7 am instead of dragging myself out of bed at close to 10. The exhaustion I felt in the afternoon was gone. My walking time increased from 30 minutes three times a week to 40 minutes five times a week. My clothes fit better. I was now walking at such a fast pace, that I was able to run. Yes, there had been some positive changes.

 

Spiritual growth is often the same. Once we accept the gift of salvation through Jesus, the change begins. We may not see the effects of reading the Bible, attending Bible studies, or daily prayer immediately. But as we continue walking the right path, we can be confident that our inner butterfly will emerge.

 

“Thank you Lord for the transformation You have promised us however slow it may be. Help us to see our progress, and give us opportunities to show our growth to You and others.”

 

For His Glory,

 

Josey Bozzo
TRBC Coffee Break

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

