Posted by: trbccoffeebreak | September 25, 2013

His Truth

Two Young Women in Front of the Computer Talking“A wise man will hear, and will increase learning; and a man of understanding shall attain unto wise counsels.” Proverbs 1:5 (KJV)

 

Have you ever had someone come up to you and tell you something you didn’t want to hear?  Perhaps they weren’t so nice about the way they said it.  Perhaps there was some truth in it.  Regardless, we can all learn from constructive criticism or even criticism when it is not said in love.  Sometimes God allows people to speak into our lives loud and clear, whether in the right attitude or not.  We must be humble and teachable. 

 

I was ministering to this lady who was praying with me.  In her prayer she said, “God show me what’s in me that doesn’t please you.  If there be any wicked way in me show me.  Take everything that is not of you in me.”   She was a very close friend of mine.  When God prompted me to confront her in love about something, she rejected what I had to tell her.   She was so busy defending herself that she could not see her blind spot.  How many times has someone tried to speak into our lives yet we rejected it?  God speaks through our friends, acquaintances and even strangers.  We must discern whether God is speaking through them or not.  Many times He does, but we allow pride to get in the way.  We must be people of understanding and heed wise counsel. When we hear, we increase learning.  If a friend is trying to tell us something take it to God in prayer and ask Him to show us the truth.  Friends are a good thing to have.  We mustn’t get upset if they speak the truth in love.  Friends help us to grow and mature.  Heed to wise counsel.

 

“God help me to hear and be wise.  Help me to increase learning and have understanding.  Help me to attain unto wise counsel.” 

 

For His Glory

Linda Reyes Shepherd
TRBC Mountain Blend

Leave a Reply

Categories

