Posted by: trbccoffeebreak | October 11, 2013

God’s Divine Plan

j0441048“But the plans of the LORD stand firm forever, the purposes of his heart through all generations.” Psalm 33:11 (NIV)

Cooking, cleaning and washing clothes – those were the chores I taught my son, Chris.  Why?  Because I was a single mom who wanted to ensure her son could take care of himself.  A health scare in my early twenties and a divorce in my thirties convinced me to be more intentional in preparing my son for life – perhaps even a life without me.  I would love to report that Chris embraced those tasks with enthusiasm, but like most teenagers he’d rather skip the chores.  Fast forward to 2013 and that preparation is paying a totally different dividend than I envisioned.  My 28 year old daughter-in-law is the fulltime caregiver for her mom who has terminal cancer.  Difficult road for a young woman who lost her father to cancer before she walked down the aisle to marry my son.  Yet right alongside her is my son who’s working a job, washing clothes, cleaning house, cooking meals  – demonstrating support and love for his family.  Skills I intended to serve a different purpose – skills God intended to serve a divine purpose.

Ever wonder what God’s preparing you for?  Too many times, my smallness has sought skills and made preparations for my benefit, but God has greater purposes than what I can envision.  Everything I learn on my job or in my home opens wide the door of opportunity for God to take transform those tasks for His divine purposes.  Writing my company newsletter reintroduced my passion for writing devotionals.  Teaching computer classes at work gave me the courage to be a Table Leader at Bible Study.  What was benefiting the workplace was actually aligning my life with God’s ultimate plan, and He can do the same for you.

“Father, help us to embrace Your purposes and  to trust in Your divine plan.”

For His Glory

Janet Martin
TRBC Coffee Break

Responses

  1. Great devotional. What a beautiful example you set for your son Janet, now you are seeing the fruit. Thanks for sharing this with us.


Leave a Reply

Categories

