Posted by: trbccoffeebreak | October 24, 2013

Nip Sin In The Bud

MP900443495[1] “If your hand or your foot causes you to stumble, cut it off and throw it away. It is better for you to enter life maimed or crippled than to have two hands or two feet and be thrown into eternal fire.”Matthew 18:8 (NIV).

 

My reliable letter opener wasn’t doing the trick so I ran my finger through a small crease in the envelope. Ouch!  The paper sharply cut through my knuckle, leaving a lid-like cut on top of it.

Once I stopped the bleeding, I assessed the damage.  The wound was deep enough to cause discomfort and nuisance, but not deep enough for stitches. I put a Band-Aid over it and then put some “New Skin” liquid bandage when I got home. My solution lasted about 24 hours; the ends of the skin started to dry up, and I ended up with a shriveled up knuckle sensitive to the touch. Using a nail clipper and trimming the skin, I thought, would give me the most relief. Voilà!!!! Though my wound was more exposed, the skin was gone. I was able to treat it better too since it was more visible. Within three to four days, my finger looked and felt much better.

 

Sin in our lives is somewhat like the skin on my knuckle; it’s not only an eyesore, but it causes pain. We avoid proper interaction with others, because of our constant awareness of it. The Bible spurs us to nip sin in the bud and to not allow ourselves to be overtaken by it. God is a loving and forgiving God.  He will take the guilt from us if we repent and give up our sinful lives to Him.

 

“Dear Lord, thank You for not forsaking us when we falter. Thank You for assuring us that You will go with us wherever we go, and that Your hand will sustain us.”

 

 

For His Glory

Luska Suzano
TRBC Coffee Break

Leave a Reply

Categories

