Posted by: trbccoffeebreak | November 26, 2013

Simple Blessings

Young Woman Sitting and Holding a Cup of Coffee“But seek ye first the kingdom of God, and his righteousness; and all these things shall be added unto you.” John 6:33 (KJV)

For years I have been a huge advocate of simple pleasures.  A roof over my head, food on the table, lifelong friends, a loving family, and good health (though, albeit, with a few age-related kinks in the system) but for the most part, in good shape.  As I moved cross country, to encounter new people and fresh places, of course, I again evaluate what those of my new found land seem to value.

Without a doubt, church plays a huge role in my latest location.  And, yes, I too, treasure the opportunity to gather with God’s people.  The ability to find common ground in a seemingly remote place serves as a core connection for every traveler, even the most seasoned pilgrim.

Yet, amidst all of the great people and good works, we must not forget to come back to our sacred sanctuary.  In other words, to take time out from our busyness and business to just enjoy being in the secret place of the Most High.  Foremost, to say, “Thank you,” for that which we possess and to express gratefulness for this grand adventure.

Many times, when the holidays approach, rather than attitudes of gratitude we get the blues and blahs.  We focus on what we don’t have, rather than happen upon a perfect cup of cappuccino that warms our soul or a hearty hug that somehow seems to hold our spirit.  Hence, the delight we can find when we slow down and experience our ever present portion.  As we approach this Thanksgiving, remember to have a feast as you find the simple but breathtaking beauty in each day.

 “Lord, in the midst of my holiday busyness, remind me to enjoy quite moments with You.  As I go about each day, remind me to say, ‘Thank You’ for my bounty found in my daily blessings.  Let peace guide my soul and the reason for this season be my true goal.”

For His Glory

 Eileen Hegel (higherways.com)
TRBC Coffee Break

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

