Posted by: trbccoffeebreak | December 30, 2013

Cleansing Needed

cb devo dec 30“Take away my sin, and I will clean.  Wash me, and I will be whiter than snow.”  Psalm 51:7 (NIV)

 Packing up the Christmas decorations left me wondering why I had put off so many projects.  Now that everything was back in its place, I realized how badly I needed to paint one of the rooms.  And if that wasn’t enough, opening up the closets revealed a major overhaul was long due.  Kitchen cabinets weren’t any better; my endless holiday baking had caused a chaotic mess.  Overwhelmed, I collapsed on the sofa paralyzed at the thought of getting started.  While waiting to tackle these projects isn’t a huge thing, my procrastination will definitely not get anything accomplished.  However, if I at least get started doing one of those items on my list, I will move closer to getting them all done.  Often we are faced with the same challenge in our spiritual lives.  Bad habits and unconfessed sins have been covered up by layers of pretense.  No one would ever know, but lurking beneath the surface a lot of renovating needs to take place.  Unfortunately, Satan loves to keep us stalled and overwhelmed. Too much needs to be changed, and we don’t know how to get started.  Procrastination slowly creeps in creating unwanted delays in our spiritual growth and blessings from God.  However, if we at least confess one area and seek God’s help one day at a time then we will be empowered to make other changes as well. 

 “Father navigating the waters of change is never easy, but when we come to You we find change is exactly what we needed.”

 For His Glory

 

Janet Martin
TRBC Coffee Break

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

