Posted by: trbccoffeebreak | January 15, 2014

Purity of Heart

cb devo jan 15“Create in me a pure heart, O God, and renew a steadfast spirit within me.” Psalm 51:10 (NIV)

 Ever wonder what a pure heart entails?  God wants us to have a pure heart, so let’s take a look at some scriptures that can help us:

 1.     “Who may ascend the mountain of the LORD? Who may stand in his holy place? Those who have clean hands and a pure heart, who do not put their trust in an idol or swear by a false god. They will receive blessing from the LORD and vindication from God their Savior.” (Psalm 24:3-5)

2.     “Do everything without grumbling or arguing, so that you may become blameless and pure, children of God without fault in a warped and crooked generation. Then you will shine among them like stars in the sky as you hold firmly to the word of life. And then I will be able to boast on the day of Christ that I did not run or labor in vain.” (Philippians 2:14-16)

 God also wants us to have a steadfast spirit. And, how can we have a steadfast spirit? Let’s take another look at some more verses:

 1.     Blessed is the man who remains steadfast under trial, for when he has stood the test he will receive the crown of life, which God has promised to those who love him. (James 1:12)

2.     Rejoice in hope, be patient in tribulation, be constant (steadfast) in prayer. For whatever was written in former days was written for our instruction, that through endurance and through the encouragement of the Scriptures we might have hope. (Romans 12:12)

 “Lord, create in me a pure heart, renew a steadfast spirit within me. Help me to have a knowledge and wisdom of the scriptures so I can have a pure heart and a steadfast spirit. Thank You for the understanding of Your word.”

 For His Glory

 Linda Reyes Shepherd
TRBC Mountain Blend

 

Responses

  1. How often my soul cries out for a pure heart and a freshness of soul as David must of felt the need for in his fifty first Psalms? Lord, please forgive me and renew a right spirit within me that I may enter into your holy of holies and experience worship as you designed it in Eden

  2. Many times when I pray and I cry out to the Lord with tears streaming down my face and know that I have touched His heart, and He has touched mine, there is a knowing and a confidence that I have been cleansed when I repent. Tears do something wonderful for me. I can release, pain, hurt, or any other emotion before my God. And not only am I expressing my feelings, but also my sorrow. I then know that I am cleansed when I repent and the peace is oh so sweet because He has forgiven me of my sins. Linda
    Thank you for sharing Amylou


Leave a Reply

Categories

