Posted by: trbccoffeebreak | February 26, 2014

Caring More About Our Insides Than Our Outsides

Beautiful young woman looking in the mirror “The Lord does not look at things people look at. People look at the outward appearance, but the Lord looks at the heart.” 1 Samuel 16:7b (NIV)

 

There was recently some controversy about a doll being on the cover of a well-known magazine. While I am not impacted by the doll’s place in the magazine, I won’t be looking at this type of magazine anyway. I am not worried about comparing myself to a doll, but I refuse to put myself in a position where I may wind up comparing myself to women who don’t represent reality or the overwhelming majority of women (even if they are air brushed). The fact is, we all have things we like about our bodies and areas we wish we could change. Looking at others who we perceive as “perfect” leads us down a path of unnecessary negative thoughts and feelings. And while I applaud all of us for working on improving our outer appearance (within reason), we should not place our self-worth in what we see in the mirror or in what society tells us we should look like. If we do, we will never live up to the unrealistic expectations placed upon us. And none of us need to put ourselves in a position where we will wind up failing and feeling bad about ourselves. Remember, man looks on the outside, but God looks on the heart. Maybe it’s time we invest more on our insides.  Or at least as much time as we invest in our outsides.

  “Dear Lord, thank You for loving me no matter what. Please help me to focus more on my heart than I do about my appearance.”

 For His Glory,

 Laurel Shaler (www.drlaurelshaler.com)
TRBC Coffee Break

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

