Posted by: trbccoffeebreak | May 28, 2014

Like Is Like…An Onion?

cb devo may 28And we know that for those who love God all things work together for good, for those who are called according to His purpose. (Romans 8:28, ESV)

Therapists often talk about onions. Metaphorically speaking, that is. How a person has multiple layers and we have to help them uncover or peel off layer by layer to get to the center. That core could be their real problem. Or that core could be their real self. I’ve always kind of liked the metaphor. But, one night it became more literal to me.

It was Cinco de Mayo, so, of course, I was making Mexican food. As I was taking a knife to those onions, and my eyes naturally watered, I thought of how hard it is to peel them. The deeper I got, the more sting I felt in my eyes. At some point, I just had to stop, move away from the onion, and take a breather. And it hit me…working through issues is even more like an onion than I ever thought.

This stuff is hard. Working on problematic behaviors, self-defeating thoughts, or painful emotions is tough. Before the onion is cut, it is physically whole, but no good to anyone. As the layers are removed, the onion becomes more useful, but the process of that king of uncovering is challenging. It’s easy to want to stop cutting. Even when you know that you shouldn’t. So it is with us.

Friend, are you in this place? Are you working through something? Something that you’d rather run and hide from? If so, know that you are not alone. And that even though each step is painful, getting to that core really can result in a better you. It will take time. And you may need to take a break. But, in the end, it’s worth it. Trust me. I’m a therapist.
“Dear Lord. Thank You so much for sticking with me as I work through the hard stuff. Help me cast my cares upon You.”
For His Glory,

Laurel Shaler (www.drlaurelshaler.com)
TRBC Coffee Break

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

