Posted by: trbccoffeebreak | June 5, 2014

Great Expectations

MP900444069[1]“In the morning, Lord, you hear my voice; in the morning I lay my requests before you and wait in expectation. “ Psalm 5:3 (NIV)

From the moment we wake up, we set expectations. We expect a busy morning, lots of traffic on the way to work, we expect to be busy at work, and we expect to spend time with our family in the evening. We also have expectations of how people will treat us and expectations of the future. Expectations are usually based on our past experiences whether good or bad; unfortunately, some expectations can be unrealistic. We expect to make a low grade, expect not to receive the promotion, expect this diet to help us lose 10 pounds in a week. Our expectations can lead us to develop patterns of thinking which can weaken our faith or block our goals. However, expectations can also help us to be hopeful, accepting, secure, and optimistic.
For all of our expectations, we need to look to God to lead us. The path God chooses or leads us down might not be what we expect, but it will be for the best. It will be better than we can ask, think, or expect. We are so fortunate to serve a God who knows the desires of our heart. So as we are going through our day, expect God to bless us and fill us with His love, peace, and joy. Our expectations won’t be disappointed when we anchor them in God.

“Lord, I am so glad that You are in control of my life; I just need to sit back and let you control it. I expect today that You will bless me and guide me throughout my day! I praise You that You are the God of hope!

For His Glory

Melissa Tucker
TRBC Coffee Break

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

