Posted by: trbccoffeebreak | June 10, 2014

Divine Protector

Smiling Teacher at Desk with Textbook“The teaching of the wise is the fountain of life.” Proverbs 13:14a (NIV)

One of the great things about having lived in Florida is the beautiful ponds all around the homes. Right outside of my house was a cute little pond that on a daily basis I would see ducks, geese and sometimes some beautiful swans. I would love to take my niece out to the pond and feed the ducks and fish. It was so quiet and peaceful. One evening we walked out to the pond, and I noticed these red flags all around the pond. I looked at them, thought about them, but kept right on walking up to the pond. Then I noticed it…an alligator had moved into our pond. Believe me, I jumped back and grabbed Kylee up in my arms, and we moved far away from our pond. Just as those flags were meant to warn us, God has provided “red flags” for our protection. The book of Proverbs is filled with warnings about evil and encourages us to seek wisdom. In Proverbs 13:1-14 there are several red flags which are vital to living the Christian life:

1. Don’t ignore instruction and rebuke (v.1)
2. Guard your mouth (v.3).
3. Beware of the pursuit of riches (v. 7).
4. Avoid dishonesty (v. 11).
5. Don’t disrespect God’s Word (v. 13).

Powerful warnings meant to safeguard those who choose to heed God’s word – He is the raiser of red flags – our Great Protector.

“Lord, thank you so much for giving me those red flags to protect me. Please help me see them, turn and run from them.”

For His Glory

Melissa Tucker
TRBC Coffee Break

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

