Posted by: trbccoffeebreak | June 11, 2014

Nourishing Our Soul

Woman Reading a Book at Home“How sweet are Your words to my taste, sweeter than honey to my mouth!” Psalm 119:103 (NIV)

When was the last time you really enjoyed a meal? You know like sat down and savored every bite. Enjoyed the fellowship of those you love. You weren’t even in a hurry or racing through the drive thru window with your lunch falling out your mouth. Done that too many times. When my speed power lunch was over, I was exhausted. Back at work, I couldn’t even remember what I had devoured earlier. Only the stains on my blouse revealed the truth – I’m sure it tasted delicious. When was the last time we really savored the Word of God? You know like sat down and tasted every word enjoying the fellowship He so longs to give. Chewing on each phrase, slowing digesting those nuggets of truth that nourish our souls. For years, I bought into the formula: Gotta read three chapters a day plus Psalms and a Proverb. Magic formula for getting it done, but not always the best recipe. When I still my soul, cleanse my heart and slowly read His words, God spreads a delicious feast before me. It might be one verse or one chapter. It might be one word that convicts or encourages. It might be a sweet taste of His love. It might be the one thing I need to hear to get me through the day. Transformation versus a power lunch with no memory of what I devoured – doesn’t take me long to know what truly pleases the heart of God.

“Father, fill me with the transforming power of Your word. Teach me to linger until my soul is satisfied in You.”

For His Glory

Janet Martin
TRBC Coffee Break

Responses

  1. I too fell into the ‘speed read’ to make sure I read the whole Bible in an allotted amount of time – didn’t work,BIG time ! – finally I listened with my heart,not just my head and fell in love all over again with the Word – I got so wrapped up in the journey of Moses that I had to stop reading for a while when he was no longer in the narrative – I really MISSED him – if you allow yourself to think of the reality of the Bible,real people,real places,etc it comes alive in such a fantastic way – and best of all,you can see God always in the details and the sometimes ,hidden’ references to Jesus in the O T – have not finished reading the Bible through,but I sure am enjoying and learning by savoring each moment I spend – (I’ve never met you,Janet,but I feel like I know you – I can tell when you write the devotion b/4 I see your name – thank you for being willing to be a conduit for Jesus)

    • Hi Margaret Thank you so much for your kind words. Love the way God has spoken to you and reminded you to listen with your heart. Wouldn’t it be assume if we really viewed our relationship with God as a relationship and not just a book. So easy to fall into that trap. Thanks for your encouragement and so thankful that God has given you a hunger for his Word.
      Janet Martin, Editor


Leave a Reply

Categories

