Posted by: trbccoffeebreak | June 18, 2014

The Bad Decision I Made For Other People

Cb Devo jun18“Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind.” Romans 12:2 (NIV)

I realized that I do this all the time. I make bad decisions…for other people. I mean, no one needs help making bad decisions, right? We all make enough of them for ourselves. So, why would I get caught up in adding to that list? Simple. It’s insecurity.

You see, the bad decision I make for other people is that I decide what they think of me. I decide how they feel about me. I decide…without any proof. Without any evidence. Without any facts.

“She must not like me.” “He must be upset with me.” “They think I’m needy.” “They think I’m prideful.”
“They think I’m rude.” “Those people just don’t care about me.”

All of these mind reading types of thoughts are driven by that word I’ve already mentioned: Insecurity.

True, on occasion, someone is upset with me. Some people may not like me. They may even have negative thoughts or feelings towards me. And sometimes I need to address the decision a loved one makes. But why do I insist on making those decisions for them? Why do I allow these hurtful thoughts to creep into my mind (and hang around)? Why? Why? Why?

Yep, it’s that insecurity thing. That thing I need to start anchoring to God. That thing I need to let go of by remembering that each of us has been given our own brain and our own heart. We can make our own decisions about others; but, I don’t need to make these decisions for others.

Do YOU make these decisions for others as well? If so, how about we both say enough is enough and stop making decisions for others.

“Dear Lord, Please help me to stop assuming others think or feel badly towards me, and help me to anchor my insecurities to You. The One who loves me unconditionally.”

For His Glory

Laurel Shaler, PhD (www.drlaurelshaler.com)
TRBC Coffee Break

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

