Posted by: trbccoffeebreak | June 26, 2014

The Lies & Truths of Anger

cb debo june26‘But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.’ 2 Corinthians 12:9 (NIV)

 

Anger is tough to deal with and we use many excuses to rationalize our anger and not take responsibility for it. As hard as it is to admit, these excuses are lies we use to convince ourselves we are right and everyone else is wrong. These lies need to be debunked, so here’s two lies and the truths that can counter each one. Meditate on the truths and how you can apply them to your own life. Let me know how they work for you!

Lie #1: “If I don’t get angry, people will think I’m weak.”
Truth #1: The Lord says that His power is made perfect in our weakness (2 Corinthians 12:9). Allow Him to take the weakness we currently experience and turn it into strength. Choosing our emotions shows strength. If we keep our emotions under control and act assertively, others will begin to see us as a person of strength instead of a person with unmanageable anger. This leads to an opportunity to share with others where the change they see in us comes from.

Lie #2: “I shouldn’t keep my anger bottled up.”
Truth #2: We don’t have to keep our anger inside. However, we also don’t have to let our anger out in an aggressive manner. We can and should learn how to manage our anger. This may mean discerning when we should react and learning how to react assertively rather than aggressively. This means that we are able to wisely distinguish between issues that need to be addressed and those that don’t. Remember: managing our anger is not the same as keeping our anger bottled up inside.
“Dear Lord, I want to start taking responsibility for my anger. Please help me to remember that Your grace is sufficient.”
For His Glory

Laurel Shaler, PhD (www.drlaurelshaler.com)
TRBC Coffee Break

 

Responses

  1. GREAT POST GOD BLESS YOU


Leave a Reply

Categories

