Posted by: trbccoffeebreak | July 3, 2014

More Than Enough

Close-up of Woman's Face“Then Jesus directed them to have all of the people sit down in groups on the green grass. So they sat down in groups of hundreds and fifties.” Mark 6:39-40 (NIV)

Worn out. Hungry. Without resources. Consumed with exhaustion, the disciples asked Jesus to send the people away. But Jesus had other plans; He began to teach the people. I can just hear the grumbling of the disciples. Now they were faced with a hungry crowd in a barren place with NO resources. They didn’t think there was anything they could do. Been there myself – times when needs faced me at every turn. My hope would flicker; there was nothing I could do. While the disciples were wondering what they were going to do, Jesus took what was offered (5 loaves of bread and 2 fish) and made it much more than they ever imagined. Every person was fed and there were 12 baskets of food left.

Focused on their own lack, the disciples forgot they were standing next to the One who could help. Jesus put them to work on the practical task and then He performed the miracle. When I face difficult times, I too tend to focus on the problem and forget I’m standing next to the One who can help. Instead of wringing my hands with worry, I need to put my faith in Jesus and trust Him for the miracle.

“Lord, forgive me when I focus more on my own limitations rather than Your power. There is nothing too great for You! Help me to turn my thoughts on what You have placed in front of me and trust You to do the rest.”

For His Glory

Melissa Tucker
TRBC Coffee Break

Leave a Reply

Categories

