Posted by: trbccoffeebreak | July 11, 2014

God of Wonders

MP900400219[1]“I will mediate on all Your works and consider all Your mighty deeds.” Psalm 77:12 (NIV)

Memories are the snapshots that tag along with us as we journey through life. Have you ever felt as though a memory was slipping away? My daughter has lived in the presence of Jesus since the age of two. Months after she left this world, I found myself overwhelmed with the fear that I might forget her. After all, we only had enough memories from those two short years. What if I didn’t remember what her voice sounded like or I forgot the smile that graced her face? Pictures helped, but I longed for the remembrance of her real, daily presence in my life. So I asked God to keep those snapshots of her fresh in my memory bank. Recalling her first steps, her laughter and joy rather than focusing on what I lost. Remembrance is an incredible treasure – one that soothes the ache of loss and invigorates steps of faith. It’s the crucial element that deepens our relationship with God. Like the Psalmist, we can intentionally purpose in our minds to recall God’s faithful deeds – His miracles and mighty works on our behalf. If not, we will allow those moments to fade away like a distant memory blowing in the wind. And when life gets hard, our mind will not reflect on the awesome deeds of our mighty God. We will have no memory bank to draw from if we have failed to fill our minds with the goodness and loving character of our God. Unveiled in scripture and in the lives of each of His children are the incredible memories of God’s faithfulness – choose today to keep Him fresh in your thoughts.

“Father, how awesome to know that Your works are unfolding in my life creating a scrapbook of memories we will one day share for eternity.”

For His Glory

Janet Martin
TRBC Coffee Break

Responses

  1. Oh how marvelous when God can use our memories in such a positive way and not with regrets and fill with “I should of…”

    • So true Amy – God is great restorer and redeemer – turning our mourning into dancing. He can be trusted with all things that touch our lives.


Leave a Reply

Categories

