Posted by: trbccoffeebreak | July 15, 2014

Wisdom Seeker

Businesswoman Speaking on Cell Phone“For the Lord gives wisdom and from His mouth comes knowledge and understanding.” Proverbs 2:6 (NIV)

A frazzled receptionist greeted me when I returned to work from my lunch break. Our voice mail system was crashing. All phones were forwarded to voice mail, but the system wasn’t working. I sat down at my desk and picked up my cell phone. A quick call to my landline would indicate if our customers could leave a message, so I dialed my direct line. Cell phone held to my ear, my head turned as I heard a phone ringing. Oh my goodness, someone’s trying to call me. Recognizing the number on the display was a company cell number, I finally gave in and grabbed the phone. Funny thing no one was on the other end. Second time I spoke a little louder, and the third time got even louder. All of a sudden I realized there was a weird echo in my left ear which was glued to the cell phone. I had called myself. I was talking to myself in one phone and listening to my voice in the other. Doesn’t that sound familiar? We dial up God, are given an audience with the Creator of the Universe and then we talk for ourselves and for Him. Answers flow off our lips, because we talked it over with God and this is what we need to do. However, too often we’ve been listening to our own inner voice conforming God’s answers into what we really want. Without letting any silence flood our prayer time, we chatter away endlessly as though God has nothing to say. Quieting our voice and mind is crucial to hearing God’s voice. And when we stop and listen for His input, we will be amazed at the message He leaves.

“Father, we struggle to listen and search out Your wisdom. Help us to wait patiently and eagerly anticipate the sound of Your voice.”

For His Glory

Janet Martin
TRBC Coffee Break

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

