Posted by: trbccoffeebreak | July 16, 2014

Genuine Friends

Women Window Shopping“Then Jeremiah took another scroll and gave it to Baruch the scribe, the son of Neriah, who wrote on it at the instruction of Jeremiah all the words of the book which Jehoiakim king of Judah had burned in the firs. And besides, there were added to them many similar words.” Jeremiah 36:32 (NKJV)

I love my friends! I love hanging out with them, laughing with them, and sometimes crying with them. All my friends are different. Not all of them enjoy shopping or sitting around to people watch. But I have a friend who I can always count on to support me as I seek to obey God! Whenever I’m ready to give up or throw in the towel, my friend reminds me of God’s love and His provisions. Not all of my friends are like this. With some of them, if the cost is too high, their advice is to give up. While reading my devotions (Jeremiah 36:32), I learned about Jeremiah and his friends. Jeremiah was a prophet who had to tell the King he would be defeated and his family would be killed – not a fun message to deliver. But Jeremiah had one friend, Baruch, who encouraged him to do what God commanded. Baruch wrote down God’s message to the people of Judah as Jeremiah dictated it. When the king had Baruch’s work destroyed, a lesser of a friend would have given up and encouraged him to give up too, but not Baruch. Jeremiah dictated the letter again, and Baruch wrote it all over again even though he knew his life was at risk for helping Jeremiah.

Do you have a friend like Baruch? Do we appreciate the friend who encourages us to do the right thing? Are we that type of friend?

“Lord, thank You for the friend that You have provided to encourage me and help me when I need it. But more importantly, Lord, thank YOU for being that friend that is closer than a brother.”

For His Glory

Melissa Tucker
TRBC Coffee Break

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

