Posted by: trbccoffeebreak | August 4, 2014

To Be Like Him

MP900443495[1]“But be doers of the word, and not hearers only, deceiving yourselves.  For if anyone is a hearer of the word and not a doer, he is like a man who looks intently at his natural face in a mirror.  For he looks at himself and goes away and at once forgets what he was like.”  James 1:22-24 (ESV)

Hiding behind my shades, I slipped into the grocery store with my hair dangling in sweat and my gym odor tagging along.  Perhaps if I moved fast enough no one would notice I was even there.  Ever tried walking inside with shades?  Not too easy.  Everything was really dark, distorted and my disguise had to go.  Amazing how I dropped the shades from my eyes and saw a friend waving in the check-out line.  Dare I run in the opposite direction?  She probably would prefer my absence more than my smelly presence.  Doubt she would complement my attire or my interesting hairstyle.  A quick turn and I was facing a mirrored reflection of me in all my unglory.

How did I think I could slip in and slip out totally unnoticed?  Yet, we deceive ourselves all the time – hiding behind our shades of pretense – covering up the windows to our souls projecting the polished, appealing version of “us.”  As if others didn’t see through the “hidden” agenda, the “ugly” rising to the surface in our response or the “stinky” remains of a wounded heart.  And the more we let the light of Jesus in -the more we see, the more we know we haven’t gone unnoticed.  The more we lower the shades, we finally see Jesus waiting watching and inviting us to run to Him.  Preferring our presence over our absence, Jesus pivots our life so that reflect His beauty.  Amazing transformation – totally noticed by all that see His mirrored image – His glory revealed in us.

“Father, Your love and grace far surpasses our desire – help us to reflect You even in the darkest moments.”

For His Glory

Janet Martin
TRBC Coffee Break

Leave a Reply

Categories

