Posted by: trbccoffeebreak | August 28, 2014

The Monster Hiding In Plain Site

cb devo aug28“Can any of you by worrying add even a single hour to your life?” Matthew 6:27 (NIV)
What if.

What if I get sick again? What if I never get over this pain? What if I mess up my kids? What if we don’t have enough money? What if I don’t get the promotion? What if I never get married? What if…what if…what if…

The what if monster is hiding in plain site. This monster causes fear and worry. Insecurity and stress. This monster is lurking everywhere just waiting to bring us down Ugh. Get out of here you monster!

In Matthew 6:27 Jesus asks, “Can any one of you by worrying add even a single hour to your life?” Great question. I remind myself of this question frequently. Clearly, the answer is “NO.” Worry does get us something, but it’s not positive. We certainly don’t get time added to our lives by worry. Instead, we feel bad emotionally and physically. Worse, it can impact our relationship with the one who clearly tells us we should not worry.

Friends, I know, and I mean I really know, that this is easier said than done. But, I am committed to working harder to focus on the One who created me not to worry. He can help us kick that old what if monster to the curb.
“Dear Lord, please help me to have more faith to trust in You more and worry less.”

For His Glory

Laurel Shaler (drlaurelshaler.com)
TRBC Coffee Break

Leave a Reply

Categories

