Posted by: trbccoffeebreak | September 2, 2014

Priorities

Cb devo aug30“Leave her alone,” Jesus replied. “It was intended that she should save that perfume for the day of my burial. You will always have the poor among you, but you will not always have Me.” John 12:7-8 (NIV).

Priorities can easily get confused when what we “need” or “want” isn’t always what we “have.” This can lead to frustration and disappointment. For example, I have three sons, two of which have given me grandchildren. As a “mother-hen,” I long to see my kids and grandkids regularly. Because of the geographical distance between us and my job, I don’t get to see them often. Sadly, the reality is that the holiday season is pretty much the time when I get to see them.

Don’t you just love Mary’s priorities? While Jesus was visiting with her family, Mary got an alabaster of perfume and poured it on His feet. As she wept, she dried His feet with her hair. One disciple who was greedy and later betrayed Jesus, known as Judas Iscariot, immediately complained about Mary. According to his priorities, she was wasting jar of expensive perfume that could have been sold and the money given to the poor.

Jesus rebuked Judas by telling him that Mary was anointing His feet in preparation for His burial. What an honor to have Your Master and Savior in your home and be privileged with touching His feet, let alone anoint Him for something that would become the biggest sacrifice of all, aka dying on a cross for the sin of mankind! Whew!

My prayer is that my priorities will be like Mary’s to place Jesus first in my life, give Him what is best and of most value to me, and not just a small portion of what I have.

“God, You are the source; You are Jehovah Jireh. You are the provider. I give my utmost for Your glory.”

For His Glory

Luska Suzano
TRBC Coffee Break

Leave a Reply

Categories

