Posted by: trbccoffeebreak | October 28, 2014

Sweet Like A Jar of Pickles

cb devo oct28“Come, let us sing for joy to the Lord; let us shout aloud to the Rock of our salvation.” Psalm 95:1 (NIV)

There are sweet little things in life that bring us much joy, the type of joy that makes us scream, shout, and do a happy dance, as if it were the best thing we ever experienced. A few days ago, I witnessed something similar with my neighbor’s seven-year-old daughter. When she came over, she was holding something in her hand, from which she took tiny little bites. When I asked her what she was eating, her eyes lit up, eyebrows perked up, and with the biggest grin on her face, she quickly answered, “it’s a pickle, Ms. Luska!”

After that episode, I did not see little Addie for several days. While at the grocery store to buy some food items, my eyes were caught by this giant jar of pickles. It immediately made me think of my friendly little neighbor, so off to buy it I went.

Before heading to my place, I stopped by her door and rang the doorbell. I handed her mom the pickle jar. When my little friend saw what she got, she gave it the sweetest, most animated celebration. To me, it was just a jar of pickles, but to her, it represented her favorite thing in the world.

Have you ever experienced something similar when receiving something from the Lord, like finishing paying off a bill, getting a bonus at work, or receiving an unexpected letter in the mail with good news? Have you allowed yourself to shout for joy and dance yourself a silly happy dance? Enjoy each moment in life, big and small. Don’t let your jar of pickles pass you buy.

“Dear God, thank You for being a generous God who always blesses us beyond measure. We give you praise and glory for You are worthy.”

For His Glory

Luska Suzano
TRBC Coffee Break

Leave a Reply

Categories

