Posted by: trbccoffeebreak | October 29, 2014

Taming Out Of Control

MP900438953[1]“It is God who arms me with strength and keeps my way secure.” 2 Samuel 22:33 (NIV)

Culmination – the end or final result of something. I’ve been feeling, squeezing into and admitting that the culmination of my food choices and giving into hormonal craziness doesn’t serve me well. But it wasn’t just my food choices that reaped the benefits – my poor husband has been left with some deficits. I’m finding myself short on patience and long on speeches. Everything seems to deserve a dissertation.

It’s more than a waistline of excuses – it’s ultimately about a wasteland where God is minimized and lack of self- control is magnified. I can justify away the piling on of repeated actions that don’t’ serve me well, but their effects will remain. Bottom line – any area of our lives that is out of control will accumulate not disappear. The more we ignore it, the more it accumulates and eventually culminates into something we don’t want.

Taking responsibility for the culmination of any out of control zones in our lives will serve us well. Excuses fade when we choose to look beyond the action to uncover the source – the real us. Only by surrendering those areas to God will we see lasting, eternal change. He will empower us to be victorious, despite our hormonal craziness.

So what has accumulated in your corner? Has it served you well? If not, join me in not letting it follow us through the end of this year.
“Sweet Jesus how we need your grace in these moments of life. We succeed, we fail, we splurge, we refrain – it’s a constant cycle that desperately needs Your touch. Fill us with Your Spirit that brings all things under Your control.”
For His Glory

Janet Martin
TRBC Coffee Break

Responses

  1. I’m still struggling with my ‘mindless’ food choices – sometimes eating when I don’t even think about what I’m eating – continue to pray that I will give more and more control to Jesus – thanks

    • So can relate Margaret – only when we surrender control to God and turn our focus away from what’s controlling us – can we reach success. It’s a daily struggle – one we all face. Praying God strengthens you and fills you with His words each day.


Leave a Reply

Categories

