Posted by: trbccoffeebreak | November 6, 2014

In His Hands

cb devo nov 6“I am the Lord your God who takes you by your right hand and says to you, do not fear, I will help you.” Isaiah 41:13

Ever longed to believe – to grasp hold of hope? I bought a small trinket inscribed on it a hope I dared to believe. How could I be so presumptuous to purchase something with such a bold statement? Something within me or shall I say Someone inside me compelled me so I did…in faith and had the trinket wrapped in pink.

On Sunday, I pressed the pink package into my friend’s hands requesting she keep this symbol of my faith until the time was right. I was halfway through 6 cycles of chemo for stage 2c ovarian cancer. My body was worn; I was tired. To believe I could survive took too much energy. But I kept putting one foot in front of the other relying on God.
Fast forward three months and chemo was finished…for now. The doctor reported a clean scan. My friend and sister-in-law were crying. I, however, was still back in the chemo chair in my mind. At a celebration dinner, my friend pressed the pink package back into my hands. I unwrapped it and read on the wings of a silver butterfly “I am a survivor. Bless this day.” Still struggling to believe, I held it in my hand and cried.

Despite the anxiety and tears, something amazing started happening. I saw butterflies everywhere. Multiple butterflies a day. One butterfly rose and circled me several times after brushing across my cheek; a kiss from heaven. Do I put my faith in butterflies? No, but they are a beautiful picture of transformation out of a dying process. God is using them at very unexpected and scary times to remind me He is there, He loves me, and He’s holding me by my right hand.

“Father, thank you for reminding me that You will bring beauty from ashes as long as I look to You.”

For His Glory

Jane Abernathy
TRBC Coffee Break

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

