Posted by: trbccoffeebreak | November 12, 2014

Illuminating the Truth

Young Woman Facing the Sky“So let us come boldly to the throne of our gracious God. There we will receive his mercy, and we will find grace to help us when we need it.” Hebrews 4:6 (NLT)

What do you do when someone is getting under your skin? Like they’re driving you crazy, and yet you sit there with your smile pasted on while your body is cringing in their presence. Usually it happens with someone you have to connect with – a co-worker, family member or perhaps a close friend. Whether they realize it or not, they’re pushing your buttons. Desperately trying to avoid an emotional outburst, we find ourselves hiding behind our feelings. And the closer the person is to us, the quicker we start stirring up our mind with negativity – building a list of all their wrongs. We see them in a different light or shall I say a different darkness. When my thinking chooses to maximize someone’s weakness, I lose sight of their strengths and my actions start to follow my thinking. Patience and grace slip under the table when I encounter this person. Responses spur out of my mouth and reactions follow leaving little for God to find pleasure in. Wonder what would have happened if instead of scrutinizing them, I got down on my knees and began to pray? Wonder if my patience level would have increased or better yet I might have gained wisdom in uncovering why they were getting under my skin? Prayer has an incredible way of illuminating the truth and supplying us with God’s grace. When we bring all our relationships to Him, He reveals the true value of their soul. Gently, He reminds us that this one was worthy of the cross – shouldn’t we see them that way too?

“Father, help me to love others by choosing to focus on their strengths while leaving their weaknesses in Your hands.”

For His Glory

Janet Martin
TRBC Coffee Break

Leave a Reply

Categories

