Posted by: trbccoffeebreak | November 18, 2014

Shedding Old – Embracing New

cb devo nov 18“Since we live by the Spirit, let us keep in step with the Spirit.” Galatians 5:25 (NKJV)

We all have heard the story about the butterfly that came out of the ugly cocoon. Who would ever guess that out of something so plain would emerge a beautiful, colorful butterfly? Yet, I recently learned from my broken ankle that our bodies have the ability to be healed and transformed. The process starts with bruising and swelling, but then by shedding old skin it replaces it with new, smooth, beautiful skin.

When we come to know the Lord, we come bruised and swollen by sin. Once His cleansing touch starts, the bruising and swelling transforms to purity and beauty. Our sin inflated soul gives way to the Holy Spirit.

When the nurse removed the bandage from my ankle, I saw a bruised, purple incision that made my ankle look ugly and distorted. I pitied myself, because I was looking through the eyes of someone who didn’t understand the outcome of major surgery. The doctor told me that my leg looked fine and eventually the swelling and bruising would subside as healing took place. And my doctor was right.

Like my ankle, a bruised spirit takes a while to heal. I had to follow strict doctor’s orders. For me, it meant several weeks of bed rest with my leg elevated, pain medicine, and physical therapy. Life in Christ also requires following instructions. If we live by the Spirit, we must walk in step with the Spirit. The medicine for our broken spirit is to dwell in the Word of God, pray to Him and praise His name. If we fill our hearts with praise, we will gain the strength to fight our way out of the cocoon of sin and emerge in beauty to glorify Him.

“Father, thank You for Your saving grace. You are the doctor of doctors and the mender of our souls. Thank You for healing us from within. We love You, Lord.”

For His Glory

Luska Suzano
TRBC Coffee Break

Leave a Reply

Categories

