Posted by: trbccoffeebreak | December 2, 2014

Moment By Moment

cb devo dec 2“Can any of you add a single cubit to his height by worrying?”  Matthew 6:27 (HCSB)

There are times when I find it so difficult to live in the moment. I wish I could push aside past memories and future worries. I wish I could focus on the here and now. I wish….and I realize I can do more than just wish.

When God called Nick and I to new jobs and moved us away from home in 2012, we “happened” to stumble upon the Blackabys’ Experiencing God. Through this amazing book, we learned to focus on God just in the moment. This has been a lifesaver as life continues to throw us twists and turns like we are on a never-ending roller coaster. We live believing we have some sort of control over our lives, but we really don’t. And why fight it when God really is better at this whole thing than we are.

I read this awesome story of a man who was consumed by guilt and grief every time he passed a part of town that reminded him of his difficult past. One day he chose to see those triggers as a reminder of the way God rescued him and changed his life. I now do the same thing. In a moment where something brings to mind upsetting memories, I reflect on God’s goodness and faithfulness. Instead of dwelling on the past in a negative light, I meditate on the positive outcome.

As far as worrying about the future. Well, that’s a tougher one for me. I know the wonderful words of wisdom in the Bible that speak out against worry. My favorite is the reminder from Jesus in Matthew 6 that no one can even add an hour to his or her life by worrying. SO…why worry? Why wish? Instead, we can pray. Instead, we can focus on what God has already done in our lives, knowing that He doesn’t change and will continue to be the God who saved, healed, and helped us in the past.

“Father, we choose to trust You with our past, present and future – great is Your faithfulness.”

For His Glory

Laurel Shaler (drlaurelshaler.com)
TRBC Coffee Break

Leave a Reply

Categories

