Posted by: trbccoffeebreak | December 23, 2014

Strength To Endure

cb devo dec 23“Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil, for you are with me; your rod and your staff, they comfort me.” Psalm 23:4 (ESV)

As I was driving down a road headed to an appointment that had me a little anxious, I spotted an orange construction sign that read “Steel Plates Ahead.” I immediately chuckled and thought to myself, “How did they know I was going to be in the vicinity?” After this silly encounter, I headed to my appointment – which went very well, by the way – and was no longer nervous. Sometimes in our life, we need reminders that we will be alright.

Three months ago, I had to undergo surgery to fix two major bone breaks in my left ankle, which called for a steel metal plate and ten screws to be implanted in the ankle bones. The pain and recovery time, I went through was intense. But lo and behold, it didn’t last forever!!! The mere fact that I was able to laugh at the construction sign I’d just spotted was a reminder that what I was facing that morning would be no different. God was going before me, and He would intervene on my behalf, and – no matter the outcome – I would be ok.

Are you dreading something today? Are you anxious about a decision you must make or an intervention that must take place? Do not fret, my friend. I am sure if you look around, you, too, will see your road construction sign, even if it is in another shape or form, to remind you that you have overcome adversity before and that you will again.

“Dear Jesus, we are so very blessed to have You as our role model. Teach us, Lord, to trust that, as You overcame the world, we, too, will overcome circumstances we are faced with that scare us, because so long as we have You, we have the strength to endure.”

For His Glory

Luska Suzano
TRBC Coffee Break

Leave a Reply

Categories

