Posted by: trbccoffeebreak | December 30, 2014

Patience & Peace

cb devo dec 30“Be completely humble and gentle; be patient, bearing with one another in love. Make every effort to keep the unity of the Spirit through the bond of peace.” Ephesians 4:2-3(NIV)

Life is full of ups and downs. It is not predictable. It is not stable. It ebbs and flows without much warning. Yet, it is important to try and stay joyful in all circumstances. In trying to accomplish this difficult “task,” I have focused on being patient and peaceful. Patience for what is to be and peaceful for what is now. And, then, I heard a lesson that turned this a little on its head.

Paul writes in his letter to Ephesus that they (and, really, WE) should “live a life worthy of the calling” (v 4:1). In order to do so, they (and, again, WE) should be humble. Gentle. Patient. Forbearing. Peaceful. The two “P” words stuck with me because I have been focused on them for myself. Then I realized this truth:

It’s not about me.

I should be much more focused on others than I am on myself. I should be focusing on patience and peace, but not just for myself. Instead, I should focus on demonstrating these traits in action towards others. Besides, we can’t escape the fact that if we focus on others, we are less focused on ourselves…and that’s a good thing!

Friends, as we go through life’s ups and downs, perhaps we can try to be more patient. More peaceful. But also more humble, gentle and forbearing. Knowing that if we focus on others, we will be closer to living a life worthy of the awesome calling we have received.

“Dear Lord, I pray that You will fill me with the Holy Spirit so that I will have the ability to demonstrate peace and patience towards others. Thank You for the patience You show me and the peace You give to me.”

For His Glory

Laurel Shaler (drlaurelshaler.com)
TRBC Coffee Break

Responses

  1. oh to remember the secret that it is, or should be, Not my will but his be done


Leave a Reply

Categories

