Posted by: trbccoffeebreak | January 7, 2015

The Ultimate Planner

cb devo jan7“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” Jeremiah 29:11 (NIV)

In my parent’s house, they have a huge window in the living room. One day, we were all sitting around talking when, “Bang!” something hit against the window. When we looked up there was this bird flying toward the window. We would hear, “Flutter, flutter and then BANG!” At first, we laughed but this bird kept on doing it. The next day, the bird started up again. This featherbrained activity began to drive us crazy. Finally, I went out to look at the window from the bird’s perspective. There in the window was the reflection of the birdhouse hanging on the oak tree. Unfortunately, the bird was trying to get to a reflection rather than turn around and be in his birdhouse with all the seed he could eat.

How often in our own lives do we flutter, flutter, and bang against something that is not real, an imitation of God’s provision for our lives. We can look around at our environment and see things that we really want: our neighbor’s house, our friend’s promotion, a co-worker’s beautiful hair. Flutter, flutter, bang! The banging bird may have knocked himself silly, but he also knocked some sense into my head reminding me that God has provided me with everything I need. We can flutter around and look at the reflection in other peoples’ lives, or we can be content and not get our feathers all ruffled up trying to get more.

“Father, please forgive me when I complain about what I don’t have and when I am not thankful for what I have. Help me to remember that you have it all under control and the plans for my life are the perfect plans.”

For His Glory

Melissa Tucker
TRBC Coffee Break

Leave a Reply

Categories

