Posted by: trbccoffeebreak | January 13, 2015

Bread of Life

cb devo jan13“In the sweat of your face, you will eat your bread.” Genesis 3:19a “And as they were eating, Jesus took bread, blessed and broke it, and gave it to them and said, ‘Take, eat; this is My body.” Mark 14:22 (NKJV)

When my son was about two, our pastor visited our home. After asking him a really dumb question about Jesus, I realized I couldn’t introduce my son to a God I barely knew? That motivated me to read my Bible through each year (sometimes twice) and memorize scripture which was very hard. One day while correcting my children, my son shouted, “You have a verse for everything we do!” (I assure you it was not meant as a compliment!)

As a new year dawns, what better time to make a decision to read your Bible through. The two verses above are so applicable to true Bible study: Jesus referred to Himself as the Bread of Life. In Genesis, God told Adam and Eve that they would eat their bread by the sweat of their brow. Reading your Bible and praying are NEVER true habits; they are disciplines. Let a phone call come or visitors, etc., and how do we start our day? Seldom do we say, “Please excuse me while I read my Bible and pray.” It will indeed be by the sweat of our brow that this year we eat of the Bread of Life every day, and for 2015 have a goal to read our Bible completely through. The rewards will be amazing!

“Father, please strengthen us in our inner self as we make a decision to read your Word and talk to You every day this year. Grow us in our faith so we become a well-watered plant that we may in turn bless others who need to eat of the Bread of Life and drink the Living Water.”

For His Glory

Sandy Day
TRBC Mountain Blend

Leave a Reply

Categories

