Posted by: trbccoffeebreak | January 21, 2015

Empowered Every Moment

cb devo jan21“God is my strength and power: and He maketh my way perfect.” 2 Samuel 22:33 (NIV)

It was an electronic nightmare that started the moment I walked into my office. Flipped on the power button and waited, stared and waited for that blank computer screen to disappear – it didn’t happen. So I did want any computer geek would do – I powered it back down and tried again. Three attempts and no success until I called our computer geek, and he discovered the culprit – a bad monitor. Despite the power turbo from my computer, the monitor’s disconnection left me powerless to start my day.

Sound familiar? Ever felt powerless to tackle your day?  It isn’t like we don’t try. We start the morning out right. We dive into His Word fueling our soul. We eat steel cut oats fueling our body. We plan out our moments – rehearse our list of must do’s fueling our mind. And then we walk out into our world and life happens. Demands fill our schedule. Meetings dominate our day. Attitudes move in and frustration elevates. And the power burst that ignited our morning gradually starts to fade.

Why? Because as the demands move in, our focus tends to shift. As the day unfolds, we depend more on us than on Him. And before we know it, we have disconnected from our true source of power – our Almighty God. Self preservation convinces us we can do it all. Pride shouts loud – we’ve got this one. But from Heaven’s view, God whispers:

Sweet girl – I’ve got you covered. Lean into Me. Let Me carry you. Trust Me with your overload, and exhaustion. Draw near to Me and I will fill you up. Cling to My words and My strength will empower your weary. Let Me do life with you today…your constant focus, your immediate thoughts….you won’t be disappointed.
 

“Father, teach us the value of being empowered in Your presence every moment of every day.”

For His Glory

Janet Martin
TRBC Coffee Break

Leave a Reply

Categories

