Posted by: trbccoffeebreak | February 19, 2015

Finding The Margin To Serve

cb devo feb 19“Do not withhold good from those who need it, when you have the ability to help.” Proverbs 3:27 (NET)

God created me to value tangible, practical outcomes and He often chooses to connect truths I need to learn to our tangible, practical world. Last week, I saw a glimpse of the everyday benefit of margin.

On Monday, I decided to organize my pantry. This felt like an accomplishment and looked good, but I wasn’t really convinced it was worth the effort. But on Wednesday, God showed me some tangible, practical benefits. I had just returned from the grocery store, where my shopping trip was made easier by the mere fact that I knew what I already had on hand. Once I put away the groceries, I checked my email and saw a request for someone to provide dessert for a gathering on Thursday night. Normally, my first thought would be, “why couldn’t I have seen this BEFORE I went to the grocery store!” However, this time, was different. Since I knew that I had the needed ingredients to make a cake, I was able to instantly volunteer without taking on the stress of deciding what to make and possibly making another trip to the store.

Don’t you love how organized our God is? He can use my organized pantry to give me a stress-free opportunity to serve. As we clean and organize our homes, let’s invite God to show us how we can use our margin to bless others.
“Lord, thank You for Your blessings. Help us to enjoy what You generously give us, and to create margin in our homes and hearts so that we can glorify You and bless others”

For His Glory

Ann Skalaski
TRBC Coffee Break

Leave a Reply

Categories

