Posted by: trbccoffeebreak | February 20, 2015

Self-Affirmations

cb devo feb20“I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made…” (Psalm 139:14, NIV)

I was riding with a friend, I’ll call Anne. It was fun to just get on the road with her and set out for an adventure. On one of those occasions, she turned on a CD about self-affirmations. Before we actually got to those, we had to go through some put-you-to-sleep stories and instructions about the affirmations. A couple of times, we accidentally missed the start of the affirmations. After a couple of incidences where Anne had rewound the tape, she asked, “Do you want me to rewind it again?” and before I could stop myself I shouted “NO!” We fell into regales of laughter.

After we finally got through the Top 50 affirmations, Anne asked me what my fave was. Hmm. Which one should I go with? The one that said, “I love listening to my affirmation CD” (no self-indulgent plug there) or the one that said, “I like to smile” (huh?) That conversation kept our laughter going! But, then, it was time to get serious. I shared with Anne that while I believe in self-talk, and use it frequently, I have found what I believe to be a better way.

That better way is the truth found in God’s word. I feel much better about who I am when I remind myself of whose I am. Repeating scriptural truths such as “If God is for me, who can be against me?” and “I am fearfully and wonderfully made” does me a world of good. Yes, it is self-talk. But, it is not selfish talk. This talk affirms truth that calms my heart and soothes my soul. Anne agreed. Maybe we should record these affirmations. I don’t even think I would mind rewinding and starting them over and over and over…

“Dear Lord, please help me to focus on all of the wonderful things You say about me, and help me to believe them to be true.”

For His Glory

Laurel Shaler (www.drlaurelshaler.com)
TRBC Coffee Break

Leave a Reply

Categories

