Posted by: trbccoffeebreak | March 19, 2015

Indispensable Grace

cb devo mar19“For all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God, being justified freely by His grace through the redemption that is in Christ Jesus.” Romans 3: 23-14 (NKJ)

I love listening to Tullian Tjividian talk about grace. Recently I was listening to a sermon where he said that the Sermon of the Mount, which raises the bar on moral law, is in reality a brick wall that we must hit to understand our absolute need for God’s grace. He stated that, “God’s law is inflexible which makes grace indispensable.” As I pondered his words, I realized that when I try to justify my sin by shifting the blame to someone else or deny my sin by saying that God’s Word isn’t culturally relevant, I am also denying my need for grace. I am reaching for the same apple Eve ate. I am seeking to be like God or to be my own God!

Jesus said that when we are angry, we have sinned in our heart. He never adds, unless the person you are angry with really deserves it. As Tullian says, “Jesus leaves us no wiggle room.” I am just plain guilty and in need of his perfect grace.   Likewise, when I question whether Biblical truths apply in our current culture, I am actually suggesting that the Creator of the universe may have somehow been caught off guard by the cultural shifts of the 21st Century. When we let ourselves off the hook for our sinful behavior or redefine what is acceptable in the eyes of God, we make ourselves god of our life and deny our absolute need for the grace that Christ offers through His suffering.

“Lord, allow me to see my sin as you do so that I can rejoice all the more in Your indispensable grace.”

 

For His Glory,

Ann Skalaski
TRBC Coffee Break

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

