Posted by: trbccoffeebreak | March 30, 2015

The Secret Heart

cb devo mar 30“Behold, You delight in truth in the inward being, and You teach me wisdom in the secret heart.” Psalm 51:6 (ESV)

Corrected – really? One of those flaws I thought was covered up, hidden deep rose to the surface. And it didn’t take long for correction to head my direction. My honest first response was “give me a break.” And then the typical line, “Is this really a big deal?” Admitting my now exposed flaw set me on the defensive edge. And while excuses tried to soothe my guilty conscious, the truth stared me right in the face. Amazing how insignificant words seem when they fly off our tongues, but in the aftermath of thought we realize they carried much weight. Careless, yet totally human.

None of us are immune from moments that showcase our flaws, imperfections and lack of self-control. And when correction comes running, we want to flee in the opposite direction. Our gut instinct is to forget, move on and grab grace on the go. But then, Jesus really isn’t into the drive thru routine. He specializes in using circumstances and yes, even the corrector in our lives to keep us from flaw filled living.

So what’s a girl to do when a reality check reveals too much of our weaknesses? Defending myself definitely didn’t rescue me. In fact it just drove me deeper into a pit of my own making. When I stopped excusing, I could finally hear the still small voice of correction instead of condemnation. When I listened intently rather than dismissing the truth in love, I gained perspective. When I admitted my faults, God drenched me in His grace. No drive thru – just a long, slow encounter where sin met truth and truth birthed transformation.

Corrected – yes! Because God loves His daughters too much to let us simmer in our own mistakes.

“Father, thank You for revealing the extraordinary beauty that comes from walking blamelessly, in sync with Your Spirit.”

For His Glory

Janet Martin
TRBC Coffee Break

Leave a Reply

Categories

