Posted by: trbccoffeebreak | April 7, 2015

Grace Needed

cb devo apr7“For from his (Jesus) fullness we have all received, grace upon grace.” John 1:16 (ESV)

She looked really cute in her pink jogging suit, matching shoes and winning smile. Didn’t matter that her walk was slow or her hair was sprinkled with white and gray. Captivated, I watched this scene play out as my feet easily ran on the treadmill. My speed hindered only by my lack of doing my best; her’s most likely the remnant of a stroke. Her twisted smile and limp arm – evidence of what once was easy – now extremely difficult. When she saw her trainer coming, this sweet little lady headed in his direction. “I’m gonna do the best I can,” she said, as her fragile body struggled for every step. The trainer met her halfway, reached out an arm and said, “You’re doing just fine.”

It’s easy to navigate life unwounded or undaunted. Hard to extend grace when our road is easy and our burden is light. Memories fade and are easily forgotten when nothing hinders us from doing our best. Consumed with our shining record, our accolades of doing it right – it’s easy to judge, summarize and label when fragile limps in worn and torn in the aftermath of their sin.

Can’t help but wonder what God thinks when He sees “Grace Needed” trying hard to just get up. I know He watches “Grace Needed” – she’s never left His presence. I know He meets “Grace Needed” halfway with arms stretched wide when she’s doing the best she can. I know He cheers “Grace Needed” on and says, “You’re doing just fine – I’m here by your side.” How do I know? Because we’ve all needed grace.

“Father, Your love never gives up, never fails and reaches deep and wide to rescue – grace extended – washed in the blood of the Lamb.”

For His Glory

Janet Martin
TRBC Coffee Break

Leave a Reply

Categories

