Posted by: trbccoffeebreak | April 14, 2015

Transformation

CB devo apr 14“Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; old things have passed away; behold, all things have become new.” 2 Corinthians 5:17 (NKJV)

The Bible states that, as believers, we are a new creation. In my head I understand that the old has passed away, but in my heart I still see evidence of the old me. And, what about the outside? What should being a new creation look like to others? Recently while on a walk, I was thinking about this when a butterfly fluttered across my path. It was an “ah-ha” moment, and I was grateful for God’s tangible example.

While I was born a caterpillar crawling my way through life, my faith in Christ transformed me in to a new creation. But, am I living a transformed life? Or, am I living safely in my cocoon…aware that transformation has taken place, but afraid to break out and take flight?
You’ve probably heard the story about the scientist who helped a butterfly out of its cocoon by cutting the cocoon open. The butterfly that emerged had small, unformed wings, and was unable to fly. Butterflies need the struggle of breaking out of their cocoon to force fluid in to their wings so that they can fly. The struggles we face are also critical to our transformation process. If we want to be transformed, we need to choose to embrace the struggle knowing that Christ is with us through it all.

“Lord, help us to believe that, in You, we are a new creation. Enable us to live each day based on that truth. Give us the courage to lean in to the struggle so that we can grow strong and soar.”

For His Glory,

Ann Skalaski
TRBC Coffee Break

Leave a Reply

Categories

