Posted by: trbccoffeebreak | April 16, 2015

His Power Is Greater Than Fear

cb devo apr 16“And the LORD spoke to Moses, saying, “Send men to spy out the land of Canaan, which I am giving to the children of Israel.” Numbers 13:1-2a (NIV)

Ever been afraid to take action and then realized that it was an easy task and you had no reason to fear? The Israelites did just that when Moses was commanded by God to send ten spies into Canaan to explore the Promised Land. Despite seeing all the land produced and offered, eight of the spies were fixed on one thing: the people who lived in that land were people of great stature, or “giants.” It didn’t matter that the land was fertile, flowed with milk and honey. It didn’t matter that the fruit of the land was very large and sweet. Overcome by the fear of being crushed by inhabitants of the land, they were blinded to God’s promises.

Several years ago, I sat on my kitchen floor and laughed until my belly hurt. Why? Because, I was just like those men, but the giant I feared was my big Whirlpool refrigerator. I never guessed I could move it on my own, so I would find cleaning tools that enabled me to clean underneath and beside it. I was always frustrated until I decided I would hug that fridge and pull it out of its place. I would not be intimidated any longer! As I began to pull it towards me, it came gliding like a giant swan. I almost used too much force to move it. I had no reason to fear or get frustrated, because that refrigerator wasn’t too heavy.

Sometimes our giants cause us to think we are impotent. Do your troubles seem too hard to overcome? Do your foes seem too powerful to be defeated? Fear not, when God is with you, you are the majority. Trust in Him that He will enable you to come out an overcomer on the other side.

“Dear Jesus, thank You for Your power that enables us to move forward without fear. And if fear comes, please help us to overcome it in Your name.”

For His Glory

Luska Suzano
TRBC Coffee Break

Leave a Reply

Categories

