Posted by: trbccoffeebreak | April 22, 2015

There Are No Caveats To Your Worth

cb devo apr 22“I praise you for I am fearfully and wonderfully made.” Psalm 139:14 (NIV)

How are you doing today? Are you concerned about work or home life? Stressed out over the number of items on your to-do list? Unsure of yourself? Well, I want to share with you about why none of this defines you.

Of course, whatever God has called you to, you should put your best effort into. He has a plan for you (see Jeremiah 29:11) and wants you to be successful both now and in the future. But, the fact is that your worth is not defined by how successful you are by the world’s standards. Instead, it is solely found in Jesus Christ.

One of my favorite verses is Psalm 139:14, which reads, “I praise you for I am fearfully and wonderfully made.” This verse doesn’t have any caveats. It doesn’t say, “I praise you for I am fearfully and wonderfully made and I am the best mom and wife ever.” It doesn’t say, I praise you for I am fearfully and wonderfully made and I am perfect.” No, the Bible certainly does not say that.

You see, you are fearfully and wonderfully made by God and that makes you worthy. That alone makes you worthy. Listen, God wouldn’t have made you in the image of His own Son if you weren’t. He would not have sent His only Son to die for you if you weren’t. He wouldn’t want you to spend eternity with Him if you weren’t.

So, the next time you mess up, the next time you don’t live up to your own expectations, the next time you are up to your eyeballs in stress – try a new technique. Instead of thinking and talking negatively about yourself, remind yourself that you are fearfully and wonderfully made. Period.

“Dear Lord, than You for making me and for loving me. Help me to always remember my worth is solely found in You.”

For His Glory

Laurel Shaler
TRBC Coffee Break

Leave a Reply

Categories

