Posted by: trbccoffeebreak | May 15, 2015

Laugh Out Loud

cb devo may15“A cheerful heart is good medicine.” Proverbs 17:22a (NIV).

There is something about a good laugh that energizes our soul. I remember many instances when a good belly laugh did the trick at transforming my mood. Tonight, I was reading while listening to the TV show “The Voice.” The commercial break featured an ad for health insurance that covers unexpected events. The situation they used was a wife preparing her husband’s dinner. As he walks towards the dining table, the theme song for the movie “Dirty Dancing” began to play. They immediately glanced at each other and nodded “yes.” The wife takes off running, husband catches and lifts her, for one split second she is up with her arms open. The next second both of them are lying over what once was the dining table, which came crashing down when he dropped her. I laughed out loud until my belly hurt.

Up until that moment, I was so focused on the article I had to read for school, and was also listening to the performers on the TV show. But when I saw what that middle-aged couple tried to do and how they miserably failed, I stopped what I was doing and simply enjoyed my laugh.

Letting go of our rigid schedules and savoring a simple act that can de-stress our minds is very healthy. Being able to let go of the load of responsibilities and breathe freely for a bit is fulfilling and invigorating. Things that seem silly like the commercial I watched can be just as rewarding as a one-hour session with a counselor. It’s not about throwing caution to the wind; it’s about taking good care of our sanity. It’s like taking off our dress shoes and allowing the rainwater to flow through our toes when we walk in the rain.

“Thank You for the precious gift of laughter, Lord. It is, without a doubt, a very good medicine for our soul.”

For His Glory

Luska Suzano
TRBC Coffee Break

Leave a Reply

Categories

