Posted by: trbccoffeebreak | June 18, 2015

What Would Jesus Do?

cb devo jun18“About midnight Paul and Silas were praying and singing hymns to God, and the other prisoners were listening to them.” Acts 16:25 (NIV)

Sometimes it is a great feeling knowing we can run to the store without makeup on and no one will know us. Attending a conference, I am sitting in a hotel room in Chicago where I know no one. Today, I was sitting at a meeting having a casual conversation with other attendees when lunch was served. I did what I always do. Bowed my head and gave thanks for everything the Lord has provided. After lunch, a lady told me she recognized my school on my nametag. Knowing it was a Christian school, she had been watching me. She said, “I wondered if you were going to pray for lunch when no one was looking or nobody from your work was there.” I smiled back to her, and we began talking.

Walking away, I began thinking there is never a time when we are “off.” There is never a time when our actions and our words don’t matter. Arrested, beaten and thrown in prison for preaching the gospel, the Bible tells us that Paul and Silas were beaten within an inch of their lives. They were in stocks, and they had every right to complain, gripe, question God or just scream. But what did they do? They prayed. They sang, and “the other prisoners were listening to them.”(Acts 16:25 NIV) Did you catch that? “The other prisoners were listening to them.” This reminds us that someone is always watching or listening. What will they see in our actions? What will they hear in our words?

“Dear Lord, I pray that You will “set a guard over my mouth; keep watch over the door of my lips,” (Psalm 141:3). I pray that my words and actions will represent You well today.”

For His Glory

Melissa Tucker
TRBC Coffee Break

Leave a Reply

Categories

