Posted by: trbccoffeebreak | August 7, 2015

Divinely Transplanted

cb devo aug 7“By faith, Abraham when called to go to a place he would later receive as his inheritance obeyed and went, even though he did not know where he was going.” Hebrews 11:8 (NIV)

While I’ve never been guilty of purposely neglecting my family, I have on many occasions excused my plant duty. Having neglected my inside plants, I wasn’t shocked to find them limp. So this weekend, I showered them with water, fresh air and sunshine. Mission accomplished – my plants were once again revived. Two days later, I had to recount that statement. My favorite plant was wilting. Even with some special attention it was no longer thriving. My neglect hadn’t only withered its leaves, but had also stunted its growth. My plant had become root bound, and the confines of its small container left no room for its roots as they twisted around themselves. Easy solution – transplant my dying plant into a bigger container.

Sound familiar – do we every stunt our own growth? Do we ever settle for “this is all there is” instead of following God’s transplanting into “unknown territory?” Finding comfort in our contained world, we often want to stay where we are. The Christian life becomes easy and uncomplicated; we could do life on auto-pilot. But God’s desire is that we flourish, grow and stretch outside ourselves to produce vibrant, transforming growth.

Complacency is the great enemy to business success and it is no different in our spiritual lives. If we want to fulfill God’s calling, then we must be willing to exchange our comfortable surroundings for a divine transplanting.

“Father, the road ahead may be full of surprising twists and turns, but in the end it will yield a life thriving in the midst of your presence.”

For His Glory

Janet Martin
TRBC Coffee Break

Leave a Reply

Categories

