Posted by: trbccoffeebreak | August 18, 2015

For The Weary….

cb devo aug 18“Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in spirit, and you will find rest for your souls.” Matthew 11:29 (NIV)

Verse 28 says, “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened and I will give you rest.”

Oh, I know that will well. I say it to myself a lot; I say it to others a lot. Moving on.

Verse 29 reads, “Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in spirit, and you will find rest for your souls.”

Wait a minute. Learn from me? I haven’t paid much attention to this before. Hmm. Reading on.

Verse 30 goes on to state, “For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.”

Love it. Got it.

Or do I?

I back up to verse 29 and read it again. This is all Jesus talking. Yet, I have never really considered the implications here. Usually, I think, “ok, we give all of our burdens to Jesus, and He will carry the load.” And while that’s true, this verse is telling us so much more about Jesus and who we are in Jesus. Here, we learn that Jesus is walking along side us. A yoke is used for two animals to pull something. Jesus is telling us to join with Him because His yoke is easy. His burden is light. If we join Him, our load will also become a lot lighter. When we come to gentle, humble Jesus, our yoke will be one of rest. How comforting is that? We don’t have to carry the burdens of this world alone.

Dear friend, are you weary? Come to the one who never grows weary. Come to Jesus today.

“Dear Lord, thank You for allowing me to come alongside You. Thank You for being gentle and humble, and for lightening my burdens.”

For His Glory

Laurel Shaler
TRBC Coffee Break
http://www.drlaurelshaler.com

Leave a Reply

Categories

