Posted by: trbccoffeebreak | August 21, 2015

Refreshing My Soul

cb devo aug 21“He who dwells in the shelter of the Most High will rest in the shadow of the Almighty.” Psalm 91:1 (NIV)

Sweltering heat got you running for cover? It’s been the hottest summer I ever remember. Driving down Rt. 221, I witnessed a gathering of cows in the pasture. Yes, all the cows had claimed their corner under a large oak tree. Most were sitting and a few standing, but those cows had no intention of moving. No rain was in sight, no thunder in the distance yet during the heat of the mid-afternoon shelter was a high commodity.

Been there myself – where the heat of life sent me running for cover. In need of hydration, my parched soul desperately ran to the fountain of life and drank of God’s goodness. Drawing near to His heart, I found rest and refreshment in the shadow of His wings. And you know what, I wasn’t alone. There was quite a gathering; yes many claimed their corner with no intention of moving. They all came for different reasons. They all stayed for different reasons.

God’s shelter is a high commodity – one filled with the promise of rest yet infused with the power of our Almighty God acting on our behalf. So what are we waiting for – my feet are hitting the floor. Can’t wait to feel His presence covering all of me as I read His word, speak “Good Morning Lord” and shower Him with my love. And there’s always room for you to join us!

“Father, how sweet to hear Your whispers, to feel Your presence and experience my Most High God hovering over me.”

For His Glory

Janet Martin
TRBC Coffee Break

Leave a Reply

Categories

