Posted by: trbccoffeebreak | August 26, 2015

Sweet As Honey

cb devo aug26“In this same way, husbands ought to love their wives as their own bodies. He who loves his wife loves himself.” Ephesians 5:28 (NIV)

The flowers and the weeds in their front yard are very tall, which indicates they have probably been too busy to pay attention to them. As I stood there, I couldn’t help but notice that some honeybee boxes had been strategically placed amongst the flower bed. As I waited, I thought about the first time I ever met them, almost two years ago. At that time, I only rang the doorbell a couple of times before she appeared displaying a big, friendly smile. She opened the door and told me to come right on in “because we love company.” She invited me to sit on the couch beside her and told me to be comfortable “because we love company.” Seconds later, her husband joined us in the living room, and I explained to him that I had been swayed in by the little “Honey for Sale” sign on their lawn. While her husband and I discussed honey, she smiled and told me I needed to come by more often “because we love company.” He explained that she had Alzheimer’s and didn’t remember much of anything anymore. As her caretaker, he tries to keep her from wandering about.

This time, I rang the doorbell a few times before someone answered. He apologized for the delay, saying “it is hard to get her to eat because she doesn’t seem to remember how to eat anymore.” He also mentioned she had been having “accidents” and it takes him a little while to get her cleaned up.

As I watched her frail frame sitting on the couch beside her husband, completely oblivious of the conversation we were having, I felt lucky to witness something so beautiful. This man is doing all that he can to keep his beloved wife by his side, even though she can no longer remember who her constant companion. Yet, in some twist of irony, he is keeping other people’s lives sweeter with honey, the same honey that brought me to them and is bringing others as well to see what selfless, unconditional love truly is.

“Father, how blessed are we with Your unconditional love!”

For His Glory

Luska Suzano
TRBC Coffee Break

Marriage Conference

TRBC will be hosting the I Still Do conference on Saturday, October 17th.
I Still Do, a Family Life event, is designed for married couples to reconnect and strengthen their marriages. Dennis Rainey, Alistair Begg, and other speakers and entertainers will be sharing from the stage. The conference will be hosted live at the church and simulcast nationwide to thousands of churches! It’s an exciting event and we’d love to see the Worship Center filled with couples committed to their marriage, especially in light of the recent Supreme Court decision.

Leave a Reply

Categories

