Posted by: trbccoffeebreak | August 27, 2015

Snow Globe Sabbatical

cb devo aug27“Though the mountains be shaken and the hills be removed, yet my unfailing love for you will not be shaken nor my covenant of peace be removed, “says the Lord, who has compassion on you.” Isaiah 54:10 (NIV)

Many people in ministry set aside a time to take a sabbatical. Which is traditionally a time away from work and ministry to rest, spend time with family, etc. Here is the technical description of sabbatical:

Sabbatical from Hebrew: shabbat (שבת) (i.e., Sabbath), literally a “CEASING”) is a rest from work, or a break, often lasting from two months to a year.

Sabbatical-Any extended period of leave from one’s customary work, especially for rest, to acquire new skills or training, etc.

Basically it’s God’s way of telling us to take a break, rest, refocus, and reenergize. If we aren’t smart and take this time away on our own, God has a way of making us. That is where I have been for almost a year, on what I call a Snow Globe Sabbatical. Through my efforts and God’s counter effects, I’ve been in a snow globe. Every time I thought things were settled (according to ME), God would shake things up again to get my attention. Even going through Priscilla Shirer’s Breathe Bible study didn’t give me the hint I needed a “Shabbat.”

God had to knock me flat on my back to get my attention. Finally my health deteriorated to the point I could no longer work. Since this was “forced” on me, I didn’t accept the break as I should have. I still tried to “work” through a direct sales business and still tried to care for and do stuff for others. This caused more havoc on my health, emotions, and definitely my spiritual life.

Lesson learned: We need to be in constant communication with God, so when He speaks we know His voice and listen and then are obedient to HIS will.

Dear God Thank you for mandating a time of rest and refocus for us. Help us to embrace this time and learn what you are trying to teach us. May the time away bring us closer to you and strengthen us physically, mentally, emotionally, and spiritually.

For His Glory,

Katrina Redman
TRBC Coffee Break

Marriage Conference

TRBC will be hosting the I Still Do conference on Saturday, October 17th.
I Still Do, a Family Life event, is designed for married couples to reconnect and strengthen their marriages. Dennis Rainey, Alistair Begg, and other speakers and entertainers will be sharing from the stage. The conference will be hosted live at the church and simulcast nationwide to thousands of churches! It’s an exciting event and we’d love to see the Worship Center filled with couples committed to their marriage, especially in light of the recent Supreme Court decision.

Leave a Reply

Categories

